2017–2018 AAMC Board of Directors Announced

The AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges) has announced its new board of directors. The board’s term will run through the conclusion of Learn Serve Lead: The AAMC Annual Meeting in November 2018.

M. Roy Wilson, MD, president of Wayne State University, is the new chair of the AAMC Board of Directors. He succeeds Marsha D. Rappley, MD, vice president for health sciences at Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) and chief executive officer of the VCU Health System. Lilly Marks, vice president for health affairs for the University of Colorado (CU) and Anschutz Medical Campus, has been named chair-elect and will succeed Wilson next year.

Wilson has been president of Wayne State University since 2013. Prior to joining Wayne State, he served as deputy director for strategic scientific planning and program coordination at the National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities of the National Institutes of Health. Previously, he was dean of the School of Medicine and vice president for health sciences at Creighton University, president of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, and, concurrently, chancellor of the University of Colorado Denver and chair of the board of directors of University of Colorado Hospital. He also chaired the board of directors of the Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science.

Marks has held leadership roles at CU for more than three decades. Prior to her health campus leadership role, she spent two decades both as senior associate dean for finance and administration at the school of medicine and as executive director of University Physicians, Inc., the 501(c)(3) faculty practice plan. In addition to the AAMC Board, Marks has served on the boards of numerous organizations, including as chair of the boards of the University of Colorado Hospital and the Association of Academic Health Centers. She was also a board member for the following: UCHealth System, Children’s Hospital Colorado, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City, the Advisory Board for Clinical Research of the National Institutes of Health, the Fitzsimons Redevelopment Authority, the Global Down Syndrome Foundation, and the Rose Community Foundation.

In addition to the chair and chair-elect, the AAMC Board of Directors includes the AAMC president and CEO, immediate past chair, and chairs and chairs-elect from the association’s three member councils—the Council of Deans, Council of Teaching Hospitals and Health Systems, and Council of Faculty and Academic Societies. The board also has seven at-large members, including a medical student, a resident physician, and one “public member” not affiliated with the AAMC, a medical school, or a teaching hospital.

A list of the 2017–2018 AAMC Board of Directors follows:

M. Roy Wilson, MD, MS, Wayne State University

Lilly Marks, University of Colorado Denver

Immediate Past Chair:
Marsha D. Rappley, MD, Virginia Commonwealth University

President and CEO:
Darrell G. Kirch, MD, Association of American Medical Colleges

Kirk A. Calhoun, MD
The University of Texas Health Northeast

Scott D. Gitlin, MD
University of Michigan

Daniel A. Hashimoto, MD, MS
Massachusetts General Hospital

J. Larry Jameson, MD, PhD
University of Pennsylvania

Beverley H. Johnson
Institute for Patient- and Family-Centered Care

Joseph E. Kerschner, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin

Alicia D. H. Monroe, MD
Baylor College of Medicine

Mary D. Nettleman, MD, MS
University of South Dakota

Daniel K. Podolsky, MD
The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Gabriela K. Popescu, PhD, MS
University at Buffalo

Elizabeth L. Travis, PhD, MEd
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Thomas R. Viggiano, MD, MEd
Mayo Medical School

Marie C. Walters, MS
Wright State University


The Association of American Medical Colleges is a not-for-profit association dedicated to transforming health care through innovative medical education, cutting-edge patient care, and groundbreaking medical research. Its members are all 154 accredited U.S. and 17 accredited Canadian medical schools; nearly 400 major teaching hospitals and health systems, including 51 Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers; and more than 80 academic societies. Through these institutions and organizations, the AAMC serves the leaders of America’s medical schools and teaching hospitals and their more than 173,000 full-time faculty members, 89,000 medical students, 129,000 resident physicians, and more than 60,000 graduate students and postdoctoral researchers in the biomedical sciences.