AAMC Announces 2016-2017 Board of Directors

The AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges) has announced its new board of directors. The board’s term will run until November 2017.

Marsha D. Rappley, MD, chief executive officer and vice president for health sciences at Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) Health System, is the new chair of the AAMC Board of Directors. She succeeds Robert J. Laskowski, MD, MBA, professor of clinical medicine at Sidney Kimmel Medical College, Thomas Jefferson University, and former CEO of Christiana Care Health System. M. Roy Wilson, MD, president of Wayne State University, has been named chair-elect and will succeed Rappley next year.

Rappley is a practicing pediatrician and currently serves as vice president for health sciences at Virginia Commonwealth University and chief executive officer of Virginia Commonwealth University Health System. Previously, she served as dean at the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine, becoming the first graduate of the college to hold the position. Rappley is past chair of the policy subcommittee for the Liaison Committee on Medical Education and served as chair of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Pediatric Advisory Committee. She graduated from the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine and earned her nursing degree from the University of Michigan.

Wilson has been president of Wayne State University since 2013. Prior to joining Wayne State, he served as deputy director for strategic scientific planning and program coordination at the National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities of the National Institutes of Health. Previously, he was dean of the School of Medicine and vice president for health sciences at Creighton University, president of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, and, concurrently, chancellor of the University of Colorado Denver and chair of the Board of Directors of University of Colorado Hospital. He also chaired the Board of Directors of the Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science.

In addition to the chair and chair-elect, the AAMC Board of Directors includes the AAMC president and CEO, immediate past chair, and chairs and chairs-elect from the association’s three member councils—the Council of Deans, Council of Teaching Hospitals and Health Systems, and Council of Faculty and Academic Societies. The board also has seven at-large members, including a medical student, a resident physician, and one “public member” not affiliated with the AAMC, a medical school, or a teaching hospital.

A list of the 2016–2017 AAMC Board of Directors follows:

Marsha D. Rappley, MD, Chief Executive Officer and Vice President for Health Sciences, Virginia Commonwealth University Health System

M. Roy Wilson, MD, President, Wayne State University

Immediate Past Chair:
Robert J. Laskowski, MD, MBA, Professor of Clinical Medicine, Sidney Kimmel Medical College, Thomas Jefferson University

President and CEO:
Darrell G. Kirch, MD, Association of American Medical Colleges

Karen H. Antman, MD, Provost, Boston University Medical Campus; Dean, Boston University School of Medicine

Kirk A. Calhoun, MD, President, University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler

Janice L. Farlow, PhD, Student, Indiana University School of Medicine

Scott D. Gitlin, MD, Professor of Hematology/Oncology, University of Michigan Medical School

Daniel A. Hashimoto, MD, General Surgery Resident, Massachusetts General Hospital

Joseph E. Kerschner, MD, Dean and Executive Vice President, Medical College of Wisconsin

Catherine R. Lucey, MD, Vice Dean for Education, University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine

Lilly Marks, Vice President for Health Affairs, University of Colorado and Anschutz Medical Campus

Alicia D. H. Monroe, MD, Provost and Senior Vice President of Academic and Faculty Affairs, Professor of Family Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine

William D. Novelli, Professor, McDonough School of Business, Georgetown University

Vincent D. Pellegrini Jr., MD, Professor and Chair, Department of Orthopaedics, Medical University of South Carolina

Daniel K. Podolsky, MD, President, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Thomas R. Viggiano, MD, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Professor of Medical Education and Medicine, Mayo Medical School

The Association of American Medical Colleges is a not-for-profit association dedicated to transforming health care through innovative medical education, cutting-edge patient care, and groundbreaking medical research. Its members are all 154 accredited U.S. and 17 accredited Canadian medical schools; nearly 400 major teaching hospitals and health systems, including 51 Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers; and more than 80 academic societies. Through these institutions and organizations, the AAMC serves the leaders of America’s medical schools and teaching hospitals and their more than 173,000 full-time faculty members, 89,000 medical students, 129,000 resident physicians, and more than 60,000 graduate students and postdoctoral researchers in the biomedical sciences.